Maa ki Bachpan ki dost.. :)

School friends.. Bachpan wale dost… Bhut khas hote hai No matter how many people you meet afterwards, your bond with them is super special and this is the reason we often find ourselves telling the younger siblings or nephews to cherish these moments..

I remember when I was in second standard or so whenever me and Arti use to fight.. Arti’s Mumma use to say ” Abhi sath reh lo.. lado nahi.. fir baad me sab alag ho jate hai..” sometimes we forget our parents are people too.. HAHA I mean, that time I didn’t realize that while saying this Aunty must be missing her ‘Bachpan ki Saheliya’ and trying to relive those moments through us 🙂 …

All this reminds me of one such experience with me and Maa… When I was in 12th standard or maybe first year Ma said she wants to go for her school friends’ son’s wedding.. Papa was busy and I could see she really wanted to go so I volunteered.. I said I will go with you.. her eyes TWINKLED.. she got so excited and started packing..

We left early morning by train. It was a three hour ride to Aalot ( A town nearby). The train was full and we hardly found a place to sit but Maa was too happy to notice. Through out the way, she told me all her school stories. How in that time they were the only four five girls in the entire high school .. Maa had set a good example for us (her three daughters).. she told me how her and her friends were inseparable in school but as they were all married at around 18 they lost contact.. As she was saying this I could feel that those memories were as fresh as yesterday to her.. (If you know my mumma, you can imagine her cute smiley face here)

We reached the station and to my surprise, there were no autos but Tangas (Horse carts) I was a bit skeptical but Maa was her teenage self 🙂 she just hopped on so I had to too.. This was my first experience in a Tanga and I admit it was a fun ride .. with Maa constantly smiling and asking ‘mazedar hai na’ . As I am a bit introvert, meeting new people is not something I look forward to but what happened next really surprised me.. a pleasant surprise..

As we reached her home, Maasi ( Mumma’s friend) came and they had the most special hug.. I am pretty sure they must have discussed this moment back in school that how they will be there for each other and about their future kids and all ( Trust me ALL GIRLS DO) ,, then she looked at me she went like ADITIIII as if she has known me forever.. this was the first time I was meeting her but I could see where it came from.. She had known mom forever and I look like her ( My biggest flex) then her family members came and all treated Maa like they were all waiting for her to arrive.. it really filled me with pure joy.. and I could understand.. if I would meet Arti even after 20 years my reaction would be same..

The wedding went well. I didn’t know anyone there still we danced.. Maa was beside her friend through all the ceremonies.. performing the duty of a best friend.. and Me.. I was a happy spectator.. watching Maa as HERSELF and not being someone’s Maa or wife or daughter-in law.. we headed back for home in the evening

This was the first time that just Maa and me took a trip together and I could see how happy she was.. Whenever I use to score well in school, Maa used to be like ” Padhti toh nahi hai pta nahi kese number aate hai” HAHA but that day I knew she was proud of me. I think that day she found a friend in me.

Many times we get so busy in our own lives that we miss our parent’s special moments with them and I am so glad for this short trip.. it really brought me and Maa closer ( The chord is still attached to my heart.. ) 🙂 .. (I sometimes hate that I remember everything but when I remember incidents like this even after years it all pays up..) Hope it brings a smile to your face too as I am smiling like an idiot right now… 🙂 🙂

One thought on “Maa ki Bachpan ki dost.. :)

  1. Abhi to aur ladna baki hai😄
    Kyuki future kids ka discussion bhi baki hai😉😉.. HAHA.. jokes apart.

    It felt so good to read this experience of yours.. you described it so well that I could imagine my self there watching your day silently.

    Aunty ki smile imagine krke meri smile aur bright ho gyi😊.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment